Promoted clubs – Bundesliga


Greuther Fürth return to German top-flight football after an 8-year absence, having secured the promotion only on the very last matchday. Founded in 1903, the Cloverleaves saw their greatest success in the early 20th century, having collected three German championship titles in 1914, 1926 and 1929. After the foundation of the Bundesliga in 1963, Fürth were promoted to the 1st division in 2012, going up as 2nd division champions. However, their stay was rather short-lived: after winning only four games of the season, they were relegated straight back to Bundesliga 2 and have been there ever since.

Their status as underdogs is also underlined by their home ground. With a capacity of less than 17,000, their stadium, Sportpark Ronhof, is the smallest in the top-tier. Nevertheless, the Cloverleaves boast one very prominent fan: former US Secretary of State and Nobel Peace Prize winner Henry Kissinger, who was born in Fürth and is an honorary club member, even having played in their youth teams.

VfL Bochum, one of Germany’s clubs with the richest traditions in professional football, having been founded back in 1848, have secured promotion to the Bundesliga as 2020/21 Bundesliga 2 champions. Despite their outstanding history, Bochum have not been able to secure major trophies. The Ruhr valley-based club reached the finals of the German Cup in 1968 and 1988 and qualified for the UEFA Cup in 1996/97 and 2003/04 without notable success in any case. However, Bochum claim four Bundesliga 2 championships.

In general, Bochum are often considered to be a yo-yo club, alternating between the 1st and the 2nd divisions of German football. In fact, they recorded seven promotions to the Bundesliga as well as six relegations to Bundesliga 2 in their history.